NEW ENGLAND POWER POOL                                                                    


The New England Power Pool (NEPOOL) was established in 1971 as a voluntary association of market participants from the six New England States.  The Participants Committee is the principal governing body of NEPOOL, which considers and acts on all matters affecting the New England region’s wholesale electric power arrangements, either directly or by delegation. The Participants Committee is made up of six energy Sectors in which every NEPOOL Participant, together with its Related Persons, is entitled to have a member and alternate.  The six Sectors are each represented by an Officer that is selected by the Sector on an annual basis. A Committee Chairperson is elected from among those Officers.  The Participants Committee meets monthly in a New England locale, typically in Boston or its environs, and has an annual Summer Meeting, typically at the end of June, at locations throughout the New England States.  

Feb 13  Petition for Declaratory Order on EE M&V Standards and Practices.  In response to a series of phone 
             calls from ISO-NE staff to FCM Participants with Energy Efficiency (EE) Resources indicating ISO-NE's intention 
             to change how it measures the demand reduction value of EE Resources for FCM purposes, changes that 
             ISO-NE indicated could be applied even to resources that cleared in FCA13,
Advanced Energy Economy and 
             Sustainable FERC Project filed a request for a declaratory order that (i) the new Measurement and 
             Verification (M&V) standards cannot be retroactively applied to approved FCA 13 Qualification Packages and 
             (ii) the implementation of a new practice for determining the capacity value of EE Resources (i.e., valuation 
             on net rather than adjusted gross savings) can not implemented prior to filing with and acceptance by the 
             FERC.  View Petition

Feb 8    ISO-NE Issues FCA13 Results Press Release. ISO-NE announced that FCA13 concluded Feb 4 with sufficient 
             resources to meet demand in 2022/23.  Preliminary results indicate that the $3.80/kW-mo. clearing price was the 
             lowest in 6 years.  The primary auction concluded with commitments from 34,839 MW (a 1,089 MW surplus 
             system-wide), which included 29,611 MW of generation (783 MW of new in the primary auction; 54 MW of new in 
             the substitution auction), 4,040 MW of EE & DR, and 1,188 MW of imports.  2,009 MW of resources 
            submitted retirement bids, while an additional 40 MW of resources submitted permanent de-list bids. Aside from 
            the Mystic units retained for fuel security reasons, all of these bids were accepted.   ISO-NE estimates that the 
            2022/23 total capacity market value will will be approx. $1.6 billion. Finalized auction results will be filed with the 
            FERC by the end of February. Additional details are available in ISO-NE's press release which may be viewed here

Jan 29  FERC rejects 132nd Agreement (Press Provisions) Changes. The FERC rejected NEPOOL's changes to 
    the NEPOOL Agreement that would have precluded press reporters from becoming NEPOOL End User
    Participants or representatives of NEPOOL Participants. In rejecting the changes, the FERC concluded that
    NEPOOL had not supported that “barring members of the press from exercising the privileges unique 
             to NEPOOL membership—i.e. attending, speaking, and voting at NEPOOL meetings—will meaningfully 
             advance its aim for candid deliberation in light of” NEPOOL’s Bylaws and Standard Conditions Waivers & 
             Reminders “currently in place—which this order does not affect—[that] already prohibit reporting on 
             deliberations or attributing statements to other NEPOOL members.” (P 50) The order did not address the 
             pending RTO Insider Complaint (EL18-196), which will be addressed in a separate order. 
             The FERC order may be viewed here.

Jan 29  FERC issues order on remand in FCM Resource Retirement Reforms Proceeding.  As directed by the
DC Court of Appeals, the FERC clarified its position in these proceedings, clarifying that a capacity supplier’s
    Retirement Bid will be used in a FCA “if the supplier persuades the [FERC] that the bid is just and reasonable, 
             despite contrary assertions by ISO-NE’s Internal Market Monitor,” with ISO-NE required to include in its relevant 

    filing information relating to both the capacity supplier’s justification for its offer and the IMM’s position. 

    That order may be viewed here. 

Jan 29  FERC accepts CASPR Conforming Changes.  The FERC accepted the CASPR Conforming changes, including
    the proposed test price mechanism, which it found "a just and reasonable means to address the potential
             incentive for bid-shading created by the CASPR modifications to the [FCM]."  In accepting the changes, 
             the FERC clarified that ISO-NE’s section 205 filing must include the relevant information and justification

             submitted by both the Market Participant and the IMM. If the Market Participant contests the IMM's
             determination, the FERC will consider the entirety of the record, including the information and justification
             submitted by the Market Participant, and accept the Market Participant’s test price so long as the Market
    Participant persuades the FERC that its test price is just and reasonable, despite contrary assertions by 

IMM.  View order here.

Jan 18  ISO-NE requests an extension of time for Chapter 3 Filing
.  ISO-NE requested an extension of time, 
             to November 15, 2019, for the submission of the longer-term market solution to New England’s winter energy 
             security concerns that was directed in the FERC’s July 2, 2018 Mystic Waiver Order. ISO-NE also requested 
             that the period for filing answers to this request be extended to February 4, 2019 so as to allow for 
             Participants Committee consideration of this request at its the February 1 meeting.  View request here

Feb 20       Transmission Committee - Westborough, MA DoubleTree Hotel.  materials.

Feb 27       Demand Resources Working Group - Holyoke, MA ISO-NE.  materials.

Mar 5-6     Markets Committee - Westborough, MA DoubleTree Hotel.  materials.

Mar 7         Meter Reader Working Group - Teleconference.  materials.

Mar 8         Energy Efficiency Working Group - WebEx.  materials.

Mar 11       Membership Subcommittee - Teleconference.  materials.

Mar 11       Reliability Committee - Westborough, MA DoubleTree Hotel.  materials.

Mar 13       Participants Committee - Boston, MA Colonnade Hotel.  materials.

Mar 14       Consumer Liaison Group - Providence, RI Omni Providence Hotel.  materials.

Mar 18       Variable Resources Working Group - Teleconference.  materials.

Mar 19       Distributed Generation Forecast Working Group - WebEx.  materials.

Mar 20       Reliability Committee - Westborough, MA DoubleTree Hotel.  materials.

Mar 21       Planning Advisory Committee - Westborough, MA DoubleTree Hotel.  materials.

Mar 26       Demand Resources Working Group - Holyoke, MA ISO-NE.  materials.

Mar 27       Transmission Committee - Westborough, MA DoubleTree Hotel.  materials.

Mar 28       Budget & Finance Subcommittee - Teleconference.  materials.

Mar 29       Load Forecast Committee - WebEx.  materials.   

Website Builder