NEW ENGLAND POWER POOL                                                                    


The New England Power Pool (NEPOOL) was established in 1971 as a voluntary association of market participants from the six New England States.  The Participants Committee is the principal governing body of NEPOOL, which considers and acts on all matters affecting the New England region’s wholesale electric power arrangements, either directly or by delegation. The Participants Committee is made up of six energy Sectors in which every NEPOOL Participant, together with its Related Persons, is entitled to have a member and alternate.  The six Sectors are each represented by an Officer that is selected by the Sector on an annual basis. A Committee Chairperson is elected from among those Officers.  The Participants Committee meets monthly in a New England locale, typically in Boston or its environs, and has an annual Summer Meeting, typically at the end of June, at locations throughout the New England States.  

Oct 23  NECPUC announces new Executive Director.  NECPUC announced that Meredith Hatfield has been named                    its next Executive Director.  Ms. Hatfield will join NECPUC in December 2019.  View the announcement here.

Oct 17  FERC institutes Section 206 proceeding (ER19-90) to consider how the exemption for immediate 

             need reliability projects is being implemented by ISO-NE.   ISO-NE was directed to respond to questions
            outlined by the FERC in the order and to submit those responses no later than 60 days after the publication of
            notice in the
Federal Register.  The FERC is "concerned that [ISO-NE] may be implementing the exemption in a
            manner that is inconsistent with or more expansive than what the FERC directed, and therefore may be unjust and
            unreasonable, unduly preferential and discriminatory.  Those wishing to be heard in the Docket must intervene on
            or before Nov 7.  View the order

Sep 25  FERC issues notice that ISO-NE's FCA13 Results Filing became effective by operation of law
              on Jun 28, 2019.
  The FERC issued a notice that, because it did not act on ISO-NE’s filing (ER19-1166)                             on or before Sep 24 (“because of a lack of quorum in this proceeding at this time”), ISO-NE’s filing became                         effective by operation of law pursuant to section 205 of the FPA, with an effective date of Jun 28, 2019.

             The FCA13 Results Filing Notice may be viewed here
The Chairman's and Commissioners’ statements may be
             viewed here: Joint Statement by Chatterjee/McNamee; Glick (not participating).

Sep 13  ISO-NE announces election of slate of Board members .  The slate elected includes a new Director, 
             Cheryl LaFleur, and
two incumbents, Barney Rush and Vickie VanZandt.  Ms. LaFleur, who was most recently a 
             FERC commissioner, will join the Board on October 1, 2019.  She replaces retiring Board member Raymond 
             Hill.  The Directors were elected, effective Oct 1, 2019, for 3-year terms (2019-2022).  This slate of candidates 
             was endorsed by the Participants Committee at its September 13 meeting. 
             View ISO NEwswire here and press release here.

Nov 12-13 Markets Committee - Westborough, MA DoubleTree Hotel.  materials.

Nov 15 Membership Subcommittee - teleconference.  materials.

Nov 18 Load Forecast Committee - WebEx.  materials.

Nov 19 Reliability Committee - Westborough, MA DoubleTree Hotel.  materials.

Nov 20 PAC - Westborough, MA DoubleTree Hotel.  materials.

Nov 21 Demand Resources WG - Holyoke, MA ISO-NE.  materials.

Nov 25 Budget & Finance Subcommittee - teleconference.  materials.

Website Builder